Friday, January 3, 2014

Cardiff to Swansea -- and back again.

No, I haven't been gallivanting about Wales lately. I have, sadly, never been to Wales. One day, one day...

I've also never travelled from Manchester to Leeds Return, or from Chicago to Milwaukee, Milan to Verona or Ludhiana to Amritsar, for that matter.

Know what these journeys have in common? They are all approximately 145 kilometres/90 miles driving distance.

You are underwhelmed by this fact, I am sure. Fair enough. Here's the thing: know what else is roughly 145 kilometres long? Let me give you a hint: 145 kilometres is, give or take a smidge, 159,180 yards.

159,180 yards.

Yep. My stash -- that is, the stuff  I've recorded on Ravelry -- if unwound and tied together, is long enough to travel between large cities. Sometimes twice. 

I was prompted to use Rav's "export to Excel" feature for the first time after seeing a bunch of my pals in the Pre-Process Knitters group 'fess up to the size of their stashes. Now, don't misunderstand me -- I knew my stash was out of control. But I have to admit seeing the actual total was somewhat...alarming.

Time to really get serious about stashing down, methinks.

I double-dog dare you to find out your total yardage. 



Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Happy New Years!

Yep, years, plural. It seems I've been away even longer than I'd thought.

Unsurprisingly, lots of things have changed chez Piggy since I last posted. Including Chez Piggy itself! I moved house at the end of last June, to an apartment much closer to work. I've been at the same place for more than a year, now! Lots of contract renewals, though -- it's not a permanent gig, at least not officially. But I'm pretty happy with the situation as it stands, so that's a good thing.

But the more things change...I'm still pre-processing, and still not finishing Christmas knitting on time! And still making resolutions to do better in the New Year. Let's see how we go in 2014, eh?


Friday, July 13, 2012

A-Z questionnaire

Easing back into the blog...what better way than a nice meme, eh? I found this one through Melanie at Mad Passions. Here goes...

A. Age: 39...for a few days more. Gulp.

B. Bed Size: Double. Just me. 

C. Chore you hate: Ironing. I loathe it. I swear, for every wrinkle I remove, I create at least two more. I can't remember the last time I ironed anything. Why yes, I am a bit of a slob.

D. Dogs: I lurve dogs. Especially large ones. Nobody loves you as much as your dog. I don't have one, and doubt I will anytime soon, so I get my doggie fix by volunteering at the SPCA and dog-sitting. 

E. Essential start to your day: Coffee. Two cups of strong, unflavoured, fully caffeinated coffee, with rather too much soy creamer (or half-and-half when that's not available) and one sugar.

F. Favourite Color: Green. Most every shade.

G. Gold or Silver: Silver or white gold. 

H. Height: 5 foot 6 1/2 inches. Yep, that extra half inch is important.

I. Instruments you play: None. I played clarinet in school, and oboe for one year, but that was many moons ago.

J. Job Title: At the moment, unemployed and looking for work. Oh, and pet/house sitter.

K. Kids: ...are something for other people. LOL. None for me, thank you. I like being around other people's kids, though. 

L. Live: Yep. In Vancouver, BC. Moved here from Toronto when I was three years old. Where I'd moved when I was a year and a half from Montreal, where I was born. 

M. Maiden Name: I've only had the one surname.

N. Nicknames: Piggy, Hils, Hilly

O. Overnight hospital stays: As a patient, one.

P. Pet Peeve: Cranky Piggy is cranky, so there ain't just one: price tags (particularly on books) that don't peel off cleanly; yarn with knots in it (ones I didn't put there!); slow drivers in the left-hand lane; people who think their pets are disposable; willfully ignorant people who blindly follow others without thinking... I could go on all day. Better not. 

Q. Quote: "I might repeat to myself slowly and soothingly, a list of quotations beautiful from minds profound - if I can remember any of the damn things." ~ Dorothy Parker

R. Righty or Lefty: Righty

S. Siblings: One younger sister.

T. Time you wake up: In my current jobless state...whenever I wake up. Tomorrow, for example...well, it's 1:30 a.m. now, so...late-ish, I'm thinking.

U. University Attended: McGill. Left before I finished my degree, which was the right thing at the time, yet remains my biggest regret.

V. Vegetables you dislike: When I was a kid, Brussels sprouts were the one thing I was permitted to ignore if they were served to me when I was a guest, because the obnoxious retching noises I made when attempting to eat one was deemed far more rude than my refusal to do so. I've had them a couple of times as an adult, and when they're not cooked until soft (sorry, Mum, but seriously...you overcook veggies), they aren't quite as bad as all that, but I still wouldn't cross the road for one. Or the kitchen.

W. What makes you run late: Erm...so, so many things. This is one of my bad habits.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: Besides dental X-rays (too numerous to count)...two, I think.

Y. Yummy food you make: I'm a decent cook and baker. I used to be known for my cheesecake; I haven't made one in a bajillion years, though. I make a killer vegan pumpkin cake. 

Z. Zoo animal: Not a big zoo person...I've got some issues with the concept. Growing up, my favourite were the otters; they're just seriously cute.

Ok, kids -- you know what to do. :o)